EXCLUSIVE: Full List MTN UG Hip Hop Award Winners 2019.

Friday evening was yet another event on the Ugandan music calendar to look forward to as MTN hosted the 3rd edition of the Hip Hop Awards. The awards that seek to recognize Uganda’s Hip Hop talent took place at the MTN Warehouse along Jinja road. The biggest winner of the night was Recho Rey of the Guma Bakunyige song that has now become a club banger. Released in September 2018, there is already a collaboration with MUN*G on the same song, Guma Bakunyige. She won female rapper of the year and rookie of the year at the MTN Hip Hop awards. She was the only musician who walked away with two awards at the awards gala.

The coveted album of the year went to Mun*G. This was for his album oMunGi Atiibwa released in 2018. However, he could not beat Feffe Bussi to the male rapper of the year award. Feffe Bussi was quite busy in 2018 releasing songs like Iddi Amin Dada, Bad Segu and several collaborations with Fik Fameica and Spice Diana among others.Flex D’Paper’s Yenze Aliko was the Song of the year 2018. Other winners included Gravity Omutujju who was the central Rapper of the Year, The Mith and DJ Crim among others.

The online rapping contest – MTN Cypher – was won by Tony M who walked away with Shs1m from MTN Uganda. The runners up were Nickarma, Bibiri Musanvu and Roy who won Shs500,000, Shs250,000 and Shs100,000 respectively.The night was capped off by a performance from the Kenyan Rapper King Kaka. King Kaka’s most recent song – released on 10th January 2019, “Royalty” featured the American Actor, Tracy Morgan. He performed his most popular song, Dundaing. It currently has nearly 2.5 million songs on YouTube.

  • Life time Achievement Award – Dawoo
  • Album Of The Year- oMUNGi Atibbwa by Mun*G
  • Male Rapper Of The Year ~ Feffe Bussi
  • Female Rapper Of The Year ~ Recho Rey
  • Song Of The Year ~ Yenze Aliko By Flex D’Paper
  • Rookie Of The Year ~ Recho Rey
  • Diaspora Act Of The Year ~ Blixxack
  • Rap fusion of The Year ~ Nielewe By Navio ft. Vanessa Mdee
  • Central Rapper Of The Year ~ Gravity Omutujju
  • Producer Of The Year ~ Nase Avatar
  • Collaboration Of The Year ~ Holla (rmx) By J-Wats ft. Various artists
  • Northern Rapper Of The Year – O.P.U KobokoBoy
  • Lyricist Of The Year – St. Nellysade
  • Sweet 16 (Verse Of The Year) ~ KSL Owakabi
  • Mixtape Of The Year ~ Kingdom Come By Dagg Mizzo
  • Deejay Of The Year – DJ Crim
  • Media Personality Of The Year ~ Calvin Da Entertainer
  • Western Rapper Of The Year – T-Bro The King Kiga
  • Eastern Rapper Of The Year – HID 16TH
  • Inspirational Song Of The Year – Life By Lyrical Mycheal & Anthony Faulkner
  • Video Of The Year ~ Paper By Navio, The Mith, Ice Prince

Cypher Winners

– Tony M (1M)

-Nickarma (500K)

-Bibiri Musanvu (250K)

-Roy (100K)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.